Go Back to Home
image featured post

Who am I and why I decided to create a computer science blog?

  • Rui Vergani Neto
  • 15, March, 2023
  • 4 min read
Search through topics

“A man’s mind, stretched by new ideas, may never return to its original dimensions.”

— Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.

Who am I?

My name is Rui Vergani Neto, 22 years old, and a computer science student at Staffordshire University. I am from a small city in Brazil called Americana, Sao Paulo, I came to the UK in 2018 to study and get work experience in IT. When I finished High School in Brazil I had the opportunity to study at many universities in the country, however, I was always learning English since 2014 and wanted to travel abroad to get more experiences in life, my father assisted me in the beginning but I moved alone to Italy just one day after becoming 18 years old to get my Italian passport and be able to move to the UK.

picture of rui vergani neto
This is me, Rui Vergani Neto

Moving to the United Kingdom

Before coming to the UK, I was living in Italy to get my passport and the right to work in Europe. This period was really good for me, I made good friends there and also visited a nice country, a very similar culture to Brazil. Moving to London was an easy choice, the city is really nice and the main goal was to evolve my English level and apply to universities.

Basically, when I arrived here I applied to the ESOL English course to get more confidence in the language, afterwards, I did 1 year of HE Access to Computing at Kingston College and then got into Staffordshire University for a Computer Science course.

rui vergani neto picture at staffordshire

Family and friends

I miss them so much, my heart is definitely in Brazil and always will be, but it is part of life to choose sometimes the most difficult paths. It is a huge opportunity for me and my future to be here in the UK now, I got settled status after Brexit which means I am eligible for all benefits of being a citizen here.

At the moment I am not thinking about returning to my country, I do want to finish my degree and get a master’s degree as well, specializing in front-end development.

In addition to this, I want to get some work experience in a company, I have been doing recently some freelance work and courses but I think at least 3 years working in a company will look good for my CV in case I want to return to my country later.

First SUL football team

Bachelor of Computer Science at Staffordshire University

I am currently studying in London at Staffordshire, which is a university that is specialized in technology courses, they offer e-sports, cyber security, computer science, and a master’s degree. I am studying computer science and focusing on web development.

My career at the moment is evolving, I am focusing more time on the Blog and also studying ReactJS, very soon I will be developing my portfolio in ReactJS and putting all my projects there. I have plans to buy a new Web Development course in January, which is advanced, from Rocketseat (Ignite course), this course will definitely take me to another level in ReactJS.

During the first academic year, I did great, getting around 80% in Networking and Cyber Security Module, 96% and 94% in Software Development and Web Development respectively, and also 83% in Digital Technologies. The results were good but I felt that I was never getting anywhere due to the number of new programming languages and content to learn, this is because during the first year they will try to teach you all concepts in the IT field, in order for you to choose the area you want to specialize.

The second academic year will start now in September 2022 and I will be focusing on Web Development, I think this will be the main focus of my career this year.

Why did I decide to create the blog?

The main goal was to develop a blog from scratch without using any frameworks or templates which are already done. I did achieve my goal and I managed to add Google Adsense to the website, now I will be posting content about IT, usually, new things that I learn at university or any other courses.

Contact me